ICC reveals panel of commentators for WTC Final

Ahead of the most-awaited World Test Championship (WTC) Final between India and New Zealand, the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday revealed the full set of commentators for the contest, which would feature neutral voices as well as greats of the game from the two playing nations.

The WTC final will be held at the Ageas Bowl, Southampton, from June 18 will include stalwarts of the game, experienced broadcasters, and fresh, young voices, stated an ICC release.

Sunil Gavaskar and Kumar Sangakkara will be joined by experienced broadcasters Nasser Hussain, Simon Doull, Isa Guha, Ian Bishop and Michael Atherton while New Zealand’s Craig McMillan and India’s Dinesh Karthik will bring fresh perspective on the two finalists.

Commenting on the contest, Karthik said: “The inaugural WTC Final is the much-anticipated pinnacle event in Test cricket, and I am looking forward to an exciting match between India and New Zealand. There is so much at stake here, both teams look evenly matched and what makes it even more interesting is that they are going to be playing at a neutral venue. It’s an honour to work as a broadcaster on this historic event.”

On the other hand, McMillan said: “The inaugural WTC Final is an exciting platform for giving that much-needed context to Test cricket. Teams around the world have worked hard through the last two years to earn their place in the WTC Final. Both India and New Zealand deserve to be here. I am excited to be calling the game with some of the best in the business and watching some classic Test cricket.”

News Desk

Read Previous

SLC gears up for LPL’s second edition

Read Next

Dravid will be the coach for Sri Lanka tour, confirms Ganguly