Windies-Pak T20I series reduced to four matches

Pakistan will play four T20Is rather than five against the West Indies, it has been announced.

The adjustment was made due to changes in the fixtures in the ongoing ODI series between West Indies and Australia. The home team’s ODI series against Australia was hit by a Covid-19 scare after home team non-playing staff had tested positive for Covid-19 before the second match, which forced Cricket West Indies (CWI) to postpone the affair on July 23 and reschedule it two days later on July 25.

“A four-match T20 International series has been agreed, scheduled to start on Wednesday, July 28 at Kensington Oval, Barbados. The adjustment to the schedule was necessary due to the changes to the fixtures for the ongoing ODI series between West Indies and Australia, which are part of the International Cricket Council’s ODI Super League, which concludes on Monday, July 26,” CWI said in a statement on Monday (IST).

CWI president Ricky Skerritt said: “Together with the PCB, CWI have examined various scenarios, and we jointly agreed that the best solution in the present circumstances is to cancel the first T20I and play a four-match T20I series starting on Wednesday (July 28) and keep the rest of the tour schedule unchanged.”

Following the T20 series, West Indies and Pakistan will play two Tests at Sabina Park in Jamaica from August 12-16 and then from August 20-24.

News Desk

Read Previous

Tokyo Olympics Live Updates Day 3: India trail Germany by a goal at half-Time

Read Next

Sony Pictures Networks India revamps organisational structure with immediate effect