After Kohli reveals Yo-Yo score, BCCI asks players to refrain from sharing confidential info on social media

The India squad for the upcoming 2023 Asia Cup is currently in Bengaluru as part of a preparatory camp and the players have been advised ‘verbally’ to avoid posting anything confidential on social media platforms right after former skipper Virat Kohli shared his Yo-Yo score on Instagram on Thursday.

Notably, Kohli along with several other India players underwent the strict fitness test on the first day of the camp.

However, Kohli revealled his score on Instagram which didn’t go down well with the Indian board  as it’s reportedly considered a breach of contract.

“Players have been informed verbally to avoid posting any confidential matter on social media platforms. They can post pictures while training but posting a score leads to breach of contract clause,” a BCCI official was quoted as saying by The Indian Express on Friday.

Expressing his pleasure at passing the test, the run-machine had shared a selfie and captioned: “The happiness of finishing the Yo Yo test between the dreaded cones. 17.2 don.”

According to the report, the India stars who weren’t part of the Ireland T20I series were given a 13-day fitness programme designed to ensure they remain in top shape and injury free ahead of the continental tournament and the 2023 ODI World Cup, scheduled to be held in India later.

Notably, Asia Cup 2023 will begin from August 30 with hosts Pakistan taking on newcomers Nepal in Multan while the Men In Blue will open their campaign on September 2 against arch-rivals in Pallekele.

Significantly, India had last won the Asia Cup in 2018 when it was played in the ODI format.

Hosts Sri Lanka are the defending champions having won the tournament last year in UAE when it was played in T20 format, beating Pakistan in the summit clash.

News Desk

Read Previous

IDFC First Bank bags Title Sponsor Rights for BCCI’s home International matches

Read Next

Chris Jordan replaces injured Josh Tongue in England’s squad for New Zealand T20Is