AIFF announces Indian squad for Asian Games; Sunil Chhetri named captain

The All India Football Federation has announced a 17-member men’s squad for the upcoming Asian Games, scheduled to be played in Hangzhou, China.

While announcing the squad, the AIFF also thanked the Indian Super League (ISL) clubs and the FSDL for coordinating with the national body for releasing the players for the continental event.

AIFF president Kalyan Chaubey said: “It has been a hectic time for Indian football season this time. We have a tight schedule within a short period of time that was not easy to manage.”

“There have been too many things happening, both at the domestic and the international level, involving India’s National Teams, as well as the ISL clubs. While the Senior National Men’s Team successfully completed playing a series of matches, they are also awaiting to play the Asian Games, followed by Merdeka Cup, World Cup Qualifiers, and the AFC Asian Cup,” he added.

The AIFF chief said that things are busy on the domestic front too as the clubs are busy, not only in the top domestic league with an increased number of matches but a few clubs are also committed to playing in Asian competitions.

“We must remember that there are general elections coming, and to avoid the adverse weather conditions in certain parts of the country, we had to adjust the schedule, and shorten the domestic calendar to an extent so that these things don’t hamper the quality of the games and put unnecessary pressure on the players,” he Said.

“There were situations which were unavoidable and demanded a great balancing act. It was never easy, but at the same time, I must reach out to FSDL and the clubs, thanking them for making it possible. The Indian National Team are going to the Asian Games after a nine-year gap, and it has become possible because of the active support the Indian Football received from the Government of India, especially the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports,” said the AIFF chief.

Chaubey meanwhile, also thanked the Government of India and the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports (MYAS) for backing the Indian football and utmost cooperation.

Chaubey expressed confidence that the Indian team will perform creditably in the upcoming event, taking the Indian Football ahead.


Gurmeet Singh, Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem, Sumit Rathi, Narender Gahlot, Amarjit Singh Kiyam, Samuel James, Rahul KP, Abdul Rabeeh Anjukandan, Ayush Dev Chhetri, Bryce Miranda, Azfar Noorani, Rahim Ali, Vincy Bareto, Sunil Chhetri, Rohit Danu, Gurkirat Singh, Aniket Jadhav.

News Desk

Read Previous

Asia Cup: Naseem Shah ruled out; Zaman Khan named as replacement

Read Next

Cricket Australia makes neck guards compulsory for its players at domestic & international level