Anurag Thakur or Srinivasan may jump in fray for ICC Chair: Report

Amidst all speculation around the likely candidates for the International Independent Chair election there appear two certainties. The England and Wales Cricket Board Chairman Colin Graves will contest for the post and Pakistan Cricket Board chief Ehsan Mani has declined the suggestion of the ICC Board members to jump in the fray.

Sourav Ganguly is being tipped as the Board of Control for Cricket in India nominee for the coveted world governing body post. However, a Sri Lanka Cricket official has told his country’s newspaper the Daily News that either of the two former BCCI presidents Anurag Thakur or N Srinivasan can also be in contention for the ICC Independent chair.

Thakur had to leave the BCCI officer on court orders after the ICC Chair Shashank Manohar had testified against him. It is highly unlikely that Thakur will be keen to take the ICC responsibility along with all his business at the Minister of State for Finance in the Indian Government.

Srinivasan has been ambitious about the holding the office of the highest order in international cricket, but his health conditions with growing age can be a matter of concern.

The BCCI as of now has not revealed its cards regarding the ICC Chair election.

Even though Cricket South Africa Director of Cricket Graeme Smith, had backed Ganguly to be the next ICC Chairman.  Cricket Sri Lanka has also, according to a board source, reportedly revealed the decision to back the BCCI candidate.

Also read: ICC Chair Election: Cricket Sri Lanka to back BCCI candidate

Former President of the Singapore Cricket Association and ICC’s Deputy Chairman Imran Khawaja and former ECB Chairman Giles Clarke being tipped to likely join the race.

Admin Sportz Front

Read Previous

ICC celebrates impact cricket made on lives of displaced people

Read Next

ICC Chair Election: Cricket Sri Lanka to back BCCI candidate