BCCI announces fixtures for home matches in 2023-24 season

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)’s Tours, Fixtures and Technical Committee on Tuesday announced the venues for the home season 2023-24 where India will take on Australia, Afghanistan and England.

In the upcoming season, the senior men’s team is scheduled to play a total of 16 international matches, comprising five Tests, three ODIs and eight T20Is, the BCCI informed on Tuesday.

BCCI’s Tours, Fixtures and Technical Committee comprising Amitabh Vijayvargiya, Jayendra Sahgal and Hari Narayan Pujari confirmed the venues allocated as per the board’s venue rotation policy, the BCCI honorary secretary Jay Shah said in a release on Tuesday.

The upcoming home season will commence with India hosting Australia for a three-match ODI series ahead of the marquee ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup.

The ODI series against Australia will be played in Mohali, Indore, and Rajkot.

After the ODI World Cup, India will play a five-match T20I series against Australia, beginning on November 23 in Visakhapatnam and concluding on December 3 in Hyderabad.

The start of the new year will then see Afghanistan touring India for their maiden white-ball bilateral tour. The three-match T20I series between India and Afghanistan will be held in Mohali and Indore, with the final clash at Bengaluru, the venue where Afghanistan played their first-ever Test match.

India will then host England for a five-match Test series starting on January 25, 2024. The Test series against the Three Lions will be played at Hyderabad, Visakhapatnam, Rajkot, Ranchi, and Dharamsala.

News Desk

Read Previous

Derbyshire signs Mohammad Amir as overseas player

Read Next

AIFF announces Rahul Gupta as Best Referee for 2022-23 season