Colombo Strikers announce Niroshan Dickwella as captain for LPL 2023

Colombo Strikers on Wednesday announced massively experienced wicketkeeper-batter Niroshan Dickwella as its skipper for the upcoming Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2023.

The Colombo Strikers will begin their campaign against defending champions Jaffna Kings in Colombo on 30 July 2023.

In 115 T20s, Dickwella has amassed 2,179 runs beside taking 65 catches and involved in 21 stumpings.

Speaking about leading the Colombo Strikers, Dickwella said: “I feel extremely honoured to be the Captain of the Colombo Strikers. We have a terrific side with several superstars such as Babar Azam, Naseem Shah and Matheesha Pathirana. We’ll certainly give the freedom to all the cricketers to play their natural game. We are looking forward to a fantastic season.”

Meanwhile, Colombo Strikers’ owner Sagar Khanna said: “Niroshan Dickwella is an experienced campaigner and he knows the local players well. He will certainly be able to get the best out of all the cricketers in the team. I would like to wish him and the team all the very best for the season.”

The Lanka Premier League 2023, which will be the fourth edition of the T20 franchise league and involves five teams, will be held from July 30 and will run till August 20.

News Desk

Read Previous

Jamshedpur FC signs defender Provat Lakra on a one-year deal

Read Next

Mohd Siraj released from ODI squad for West Indies series