CPL 2020: Afghanistan players to stay till final

Cricket West Indies and the Afghanistan Cricket Board have reached an agreement to allow the Afghan players to stay until the conclusion of the Hero Caribbean Premier League 2020.

The Afghan players as per the earlier contract were to leave early to take part in their domestic T20 competition – the Shpageeza Cricket League.

Six Afghan cricketers – Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Naveen-ul-Haq, Najibullah Zadran and Zahir Khan – are taking part in the Hero CPL 2020.

Their stay at the CPL is extended following discussions between the CWI President Ricky Skerritt and the ACB Chairman Farhan Yusefzai. An agreement was reached to allow the players to stay on until the CPL final.

“We understand the importance of the Shpageeza Cricket League to the ACB and the reasons why it had to be scheduled during the CPL after the NOCs were all issued.  We truly appreciate the Chairman of the ACB allowing these six Afghan players to stay at the Hero CPL until its conclusion. Afghan players have had a huge impact on our competition, both this season and in previous years, and we are very grateful to have them with us until the final on 10 September,” said Pete Russell, Hero CPL’s COO.

“I would also like to put on record our thanks to CWI’s President and CEO for taking the time to resolve this situation, which has shone a light on the issues leagues such as CPL face with the current NOC policy and system.”

Admin Sportz Front

Read Previous

TCM to launch T20 League for Jharkhand State Cricket Association

Read Next

Lionel Messi confirms he is staying at Barcelona