Cricket Australia announce squad for WTC final & Ashes

Cricket Australia (CA) on Wednesday announced its 17-member squad for the upcoming ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final against India at The Oval and the opening two Ashes Tests.

The squad also includes opener David Warner in Australia’s 17-player touring party for the ICC WTC final against India and for the first two Ashes Tests.

After this, Warner will remain in frame to be selected for the WTC final, starting on June 7. Warner has now recovered from an elbow injury which he had sustained during the Test series against India in February this year.

Meanwhile, pacer Pat Cummins will also return to lead the squad after leaving the tour of India midway and missing the third and fourth Tests of the series to be with his sick mother in Australia.

The 17 players selected in the touring party will be available for selection in the WTC final against India and the opening two Ashes Tests at Edgbaston and Lord’s.

As per reports, the CA selectors will now evaluate the makeup of the squad after the second Ashes Test with the option to make changes for the remaining matches against England at Headingly, Old Trafford and The Oval.

Now on May 28, a 15-member squad for the ICC World Test Championship final will be announced.

Australia will take on Rohit Sharma-led India in the WTC final at the Oval from June 7-11 before moving to the first Ashes Test against England at Edgbaston from June 16-20.

Australia Squad:

Pat Cummins (Captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vice-captain), Mitchell Starc, David Warner

News Desk

Read Previous

Lalchand Rajput all set to serve as CIC Chairman of MCA

Read Next

DC Players’ bats, other equipments worth lakhs stolen in transit