Cricket Australia names 12 IPL-bound players for England tour

Cricket Australia has named a 21-member squad for the tour of England to play two ‘White Ball’ series in September. The touring party includes 12 players with contracts from the Indian Premier League teams.

Majority of the IPL-bound players will have to miss the opening round action as the cash-rich league starts in the UAE from September 18. Australia will be playing England in the last match of the English international summer on September 16.

Royal Challengers will be the most affected by the Australia’s team selection as their three players – Aaron Finch, Kane Richardson and Joshua Philippe – figure in the Australian tour party. There is none from defending champions Mumbai Indians.

The overall squad includes Josh Hazlewood (Chennai Super Kings); Marcus Stonis and Alex Carey (both Delhi Capitals); Glenn Maxwell (Kings XI Punjab); Pat Cummins (Kolkata Knight Riders); Andrew Tye and Steve Smith (Rajasthan Royals); and David Warner and Mitchell Marsh (SunRisers Hyderabad).

Cricket Australia (CA) received Government exemptions for the squad to travel to the UK this week for the six-game (three T20s, three ODIs) tour which will be played under strict biosecurity arrangements.

After four warm-up games in Derby, the Aussies will play three T20s at the Rose Bowl in Southampton before three ODIs at Old Trafford in Manchester. Both those venues have hotels on site.

The players will directly fly to the UAE for the IPL. Others will have to quarantine themselves for two weeks on their return to Australia.

Squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Admin Sportz Front

Read Previous

Elite Sports Management’s unique initiative for ‘Injury Free Sports Ecosystem’

Read Next

IPL 2020: Key England, Australia players to arrive late