Deccan Gladiators gears up for Abu Dhabi T10 League

Deccan Gladiators have packed their squad with big power hitters for this edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 League scheduled to start from November 19 to December 5, 2021.

Explosive opener Evin Lewis at the top, the mercurial Andre Russell at No. 4 and star all-rounder Odean Smith, who bowls 140 kmph and is capable of hitting the ball long, will come in at No. 8. That apart, the team has a host of experienced and exciting players like Najibullah Zadran, David Wiese, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Ravi Bopara, Sultan Ahmed, Rumman Raees.

The team also has young and talented cricketers like Tom Banton and 17-year-old Izharulhaq Naveed. Overall, Deccan Gladiators have picked a well-balanced squad at the Players Draft for the Abu Dhabi T10 held late last evening.

Commenting on the upcoming season, head coach Mushtaq Ahmed said: “We had spent few days strategizing the kind of team we want to pick and I am very happy and excited at the same time that we got what we were looking for and I am hopeful that they can show their talent and express themselves and, Inshallah! win the trophy for Deccan Gladiators this season.”

Happy with his team, Deccan Gladiators team owner Gaurav Grover said: “I am very happy with the team we got, actually it went as we wanted and according to our strategy. Last two editions we had focused a lot on our bowling but this year we have a lot more depth in our batting and with Gpd’s grace, we are hopeful of going all the way to the title this season.”

In a nutshell, Deccan Gladiators is a result of owner Gaurav Grover’s vision combined with his passion for the sport which he loves so dearly.

Representing the glory of the South as the name suggests, the Gladiators in the team are no less than their historical counterparts of the Roman Empire. A perfect combination of youthful exuberance and battle-hardened experienced generals, the team has time and again in the past won hearts with their fearless brand of cricket in the park.

Notably, Abu Dhabi T10 League is a Ten10 cricket league in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) launched and owned by T Ten Sports Management. The league is approved by the Emirates Cricket Board and the matches are 10-over-a-side and the duration of each match is 90 minutes.

The tournament is a round robin followed by Eliminators and the Final. In 2018, the International Cricket Council (ICC) had officially sanctioned the league.

Northern Warriors is the most successful side of the league, having won the title twice in 2018 and 2021.

Deccan Gladiators Squad:

Andre Russell, Tymal Mills, Zahoor Khan, Wanindu Hasaranga, Izharulhaq Naveed, Sultan Ahmed, Ravi Bopara, Rumman Raees, Odean Smith, Najibullah Zadran, David Wiese, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Tom Banton, Evin Lewis, Anwar Ali, Ryan Rickleton and Nav Pabreja.

Head Coach: Mushtaq Ahmed

News Desk

Read Previous

Winner of T20 World Cup to receive cash prize of 1.6 million dollars

Read Next

ICC to take call on cricket’s fate in Afghanistan next month