F1 confirms first 8 races of revised 2020 calendar

The Formula-1 2020 season will start with the double header in Austria. The first race has been confirmed at the Red Bull Ring, Spielberg, Austria, on July 5. The next one follows a week  later at the same track.

Formula 1 has confirmed that the 2020 season will begin in Austria next month. The governing body for the motor sport has also released the details on the first eight races of a new calendar, which had been suspended due to the COVID-19 pandemic threat.

Formula 1 chief executive Chase Carey outlined the first part of a revised calendar of races. “In the past weeks we have been working tirelessly with all our partners, the FIA and the teams to create a revised opening 2020 calendar allowing us to restart racing in the safest possible way. We are pleased to be able to set out our opening eight race calendar today and look forward to publishing our full calendar in the coming weeks,” said Chase Carey, Chairman and CEO of Formula 1.

The season will kick off with the Austrian Grand Prix at the Red Bull Ring on July 5, followed a week later by the second race at the same track.

The Hungarian Grand Prix will follow a week after that, before a break. Then there will be two back to back races at Silverstone, followed by the Spanish Grand Prix at Barcelona.

The Belgian Grand Prix will follow that, with the Italian Grand Prix at Monza a week later on September 6.

Carey is also optimistic that fans will be allowed at the circuit as the season progresses. “While we currently expect the season to commence without fans at our races we hope that over the coming months the situation will allow us to welcome them back once it is safe to do, but we know the return of Formula 1 will be a welcome boost to sports fans around the world,” he added

All the races will be supported by Formula 2 and Formula 3.

Schedule: July 3  to 5: Rolex Grosser Preis Von Osterreich (Spielberg, Austria); July 10 to 12: Pirelli Grosser Preis Der Steiermark (Spielberg, Austria); July 17 to 19: Armaco Magyar Nagydij (Budapest, Hungary); July 31 to August 2: Formula 1 Pirelli British Grand Prix (Silverstone, UK); August 7 to 9: Emirates 70th  Anniversary Grand Prix (Silverstone, UK); August 14 to 16: Aramco Gran Premio de Espana (Barcelona, Spain); August 28 to 30: Rolex Belgian Grand Prix (Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium); and September 4 to 6: Gran Premio Heineken D’Italia (Monza, Italy).

Admin Sportz Front

Read Previous

BCCI hoping to resume cricket by end of June: Report

Read Next

Hockey India nominates Rani for Khel Ratna; 7 more for sports awards