ICC announces schedule for 10-team Men’s World Cup Qualifier

After the confirmation of the 10 teams which will participate at the event, the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday revealed the schedule for the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier, slated to be hosted in Harare, Zimbabwe, between June 18 and July 9, 2023.

Notably, the finalists of the Qualifiers will advance to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, scheduled to be held in India in October-November.

The 10 teams have been divided into two groups of five each with hosts Zimbabwe, the West Indies, the Netherlands, Nepal and the United States making up Group A, while Sri Lanka, Ireland, Scotland, Oman and the United Arab Emirates forming the Group B, the ICC announced in a release on Tuesday.

Each of the 10 team will play the other teams in their group once with the top three from each group progressing to the Super Six stage where they will play the sides they did not meet in the group stage. All points won in the group stage will be carried over to the Super Six stage apart from those gained against the teams that fail to make it to the Super Six stage.

Queen’s Sports Club and Bulawayo Athletic Club in Bulawayo, Harare Sports Club and Takashinga Cricket Club in Harare will share 34 matches between them, with Harare Sports Club hosting the final on July 9. Meanwhile, the Old Hararians Cricket Club will also host warm-up fixtures.

Hosts Zimbabwe will feature on the opening matchday on June 18 at Harare Sports Club against Nepal, who are aiming to qualify for the Men’s Cricket World Cup for the first time. Two-time Men’s Cricket World Cup champions West Indies will also be in action on June 18 against neighbours USA at Takashinga Cricket Club.

Group B commences on June 19 in Bulawayo with 1996 World Cup champions Sri Lanka facing the UAE at Queen’s Sports Club, while in the other match at Bulawayo Athletic Club, Ireland will face off against Oman.

The Netherlands will open their campaign against Zimbabwe on June 20 at Harare Sports Club, while Scotland face rivals Ireland in Bulawayo on June 21 at Queens Sports Club. The Super Six stage will commence on June 29, while the bottom two teams from each group will compete in the Playoff.

For the first time in this tournament, DRS will be used for all matches from the Super Six stage onwards.

News Desk

Read Previous

Rashid will be the trump card for Gujarat in Qualifier 1: Sehwag

Read Next

Ding Liren, Magnus Carlsen, Viswanathan Anand & Hou Yifan join Global Chess League