IPL 2020: KXIP, KKR, Royals first teams to land in UAE

The Indian Premier League bandwagon has started arriving in the UAE as Rajasthan Royals, Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders landed in the Emirates on Thursday evening.

Rajasthan Royals and KXIP flew into Dubai via a chartered flight, whereas Kolkata Knight Riders landed in Abu Dhabi.

While six teams will be staying in Dubai during the course of the IPL 2020, KKR and Mumbai Indians have picked Abu Dhabi are their abode.

The teams will be staying in isolation for six days as part of the standard operating procedures. The contingents have landed in the UAE following the COVID-19 screening. They will also have to take COVID-19 test on the day of arrival, as well as on the third and the sixth day.

Once confirmed free from the virus infection, the teams will be allowed to start practice in a bio-secure bubble.

All three teams posted pictures of their players and support staff before departure. The Royals squad was fully covered in protective gear.

Defending champions Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore will arrive in the UAE on Friday while the other two teams, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Delhi Capitals, will land over the weekend.

Sixty games will be played over 53 days across three venues – Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah. In 2014, UAE had hosted the IPL partially due to the general elections in India.

Admin Sportz Front

Read Previous

IPL 2020: Delhi Capitals co-owner JSW to replace Daikin as Principal Sponsor

Read Next

IPL 2020: ‘Quarantine waiver likely for England, Australia players’