IPL 2021: Delhi Capitals sign Ben Dwarshuis as replacement for Chris Woakes

Delhi Capital (DC) on Monday announced Australian pacer Ben Dwarshuis as a replacement for Chris Woakes for the upcoming remainder of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021, scheduled to be held in the UAE from September 19.

Woakes, the England all-rounder pulled, has reportedly out of the tournament citing personal reasons.

Woakes had picked five wickets in three matches in the first half of the IPL 2021 season.

“The Delhi Capitals have announced Australian fast bowler Ben Dwarshuis as Woakes’ replacement for the remainder of the IPL 2021 season. Dwarshuis has scalped 100 wickets in 82 T20 matches at an average of 23.73. The 27-year-old, who plays for the Sydney Sixers in the Big Bash League, is the sixth-highest wicket-taker in the history of the tournament with 85 wickets in 69 matches,” Delhi Capitals said in a statement.

In the recent times, various franchises have signed replacements for players, who will miss out the second leg of the IPL due to international commitments or injuries.

Recently, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) had announced Bengal cricketer Akash Deep as the replacement for all-rounder Washington Sundar, who was forced to be ruled out of the remainder of the IPL 2021 season.

The franchise said that Sundar had picked a finger injury in England.

While the Virat kohli-led Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have signed Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga as replacement for Australia’s Adam Zampa. Hasaranga had bagged a total of seven wickets, including a four-wicket haul in the final T20I, in the recently held T20I series against India.

RCB also roped in Dushmantha Chameera for Daniel Sams, left-arm quick George Garton for Kane Richardson and Tim David for New Zealand’s Finn Allen.

Meanwhile, RR had earlier acquired Kiwi wicketkeeper-batsman Glenn Phillips as a replacement for England’s Jofra Archer while South Africa’s Tabraiz Shamsi has been signed to replace Andrew Tye.

Punjab Kings (PBKS) have roped in Aussie pacer Nathan Ellis for Riley Meredith and England leg-spinner Adil Rashid for Jhye Richardson.

On the other hand, KKR have snapped New Zealand’s Tim Southee, who will replace Australia’s Pat Cummins.

The 14th edition of the cash-rich league will resume with a blockbuster clash between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) on September 19.

The season was earlier forced to be postponed in May this year due to the emergence of Covid-19 cases among the players and support staffs inside the bio-bubble.

The BCCI had later, shifted the remaining part of the season to the UAE.

With six wins from eight games during the first half of the 2021 season, Delhi Capitals, the last season’s runners up, sits at the first place in the eight-team standings.

Delhi’s star opener Shikhar Dhawan is the leading run-getter at present after amassing 380 runs from eight innings, with a decent average of 54.29.

On the other hand, Delhi’s pacer Avesh Khan is second amongst wickets in the league’s table after 14 scalps from eight games, with an economy of 7.70.

Delhi will resume their IPL 2021 campaign against Sunrisers Hyderabad at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai on September 22.

News Desk

Read Previous

Former Pakistan captain Ramiz Raja elected as PCB’s 36th Chairman

Read Next

T20 World Cup: PCB appoints Hayden, Philander as Pakistan’s coaching staff