Kiwi cricketers to participate in IPL 2021 remainder

In a sigh of relief for the BCCI and various IPL franchises, all the New Zealand cricketers, who are part of the 14th edition of the tournament, will be participating in the remainder of the league, slated to be held in the UAE in mid-September.

A source close to an IPL franchise has confirmed that the BCCI is also in talks with the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and Cricket Australia (CA) to ensure the availability of their players too.

Significantly, as many as seven Kiwi players have a contract with IPL franchises. These players are Kyle Jamieson, Trent Boult, Kane Williamson, Lockie Ferguson, Jimmy Neesham, Tim Seifert, and Finn Allen.

A report in has quoted an IPL franchise official, who confirmed the availability of Black Caps’ players saying: “We are much relieved now. BCCI is in talks with English and Australian boards to come to a consensus regarding this. Given April and May are earmarked for the IPL, they are right to raise their own objections but we are now confirmed to witness New Zealand players in action.”

Earlier, the IPL’s 14th season was postponed on May 4 after there was a breach in the bio-bubble and a number of players and support staff tested positive for the COVID-19 virus.

Meanwhile, West Indies players will also be available for the remaining part of IPL 2021 as Cricket West Indies (CWI) preponed CPL 2021 to ensure that it doesn’t clash with the Indian T20 league.

News Desk

Read Previous

Silverstone to witness full capacity crowd at upcoming British GP

Read Next

Indian cricketers to enjoy 20-day break in UK before England series