Lanka Premier League confirmed from August 28

Sri Lanka Cricket Executive Committee has granted approval to conduct the inaugural Lanka Premier League T20 Tournament from August 28 to September 20 this year.

The 23-match League will be played on the 4 international venues – R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Rangiri Dambulu International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium and Suriyawewa Mahinda Rajapakse International Cricket Stadium, SLC has stated in a Press release.

The executive committee at its meeting today (Monday) had approved 5 teams, to be named after the cities of Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna, for the inaugural season of the league.

SLC has claimed that Over 70 International players and 10 top notch coaches have already confirm their availability for the tournament that will also feature leading Sri Lankan national players.

Sri Lanka Cricket, however, did not name any of the foreign stars or the coaches.

The bidding for the Event’s Title Holder is due to close on July 30 and the schedule of the matches are to be published afterwards.

The Lanka Premier League final, salted for September 20, will clash with the first IPL double header, when Delhi Capitals have been drawn to take on Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders will meet Royal Challengers Bangalore in the game slated to start simultaneously in the UAE at 8:00 pm India time.

The first professional T20 league in Sri Lanka was cancelled after the only one season in 2012.

Admin Sportz Front

Read Previous

SRK’s Trinbago Knight Riders in CPL 2020 opener

Read Next

IPL 2020 Schedule: Chennai Super Kings-Mumbai Indians to play opener