Lankan Premier League to start from November 14

The inaugural Lankan Premier League will be played shortly after the Indian Premier League final in the UAE.

Even as a formal announcement from Sri Lanka Cricket is still awaited, people aware of the developments have confirmed that the franchise-based professional league will be played from November 14 to December 6.

The three-week tournament will feature five teams and 23 matches across three venues.

The confirmation of the Lankan Premier League today also came from Pakistan with the announcement of the Galle Gladiators. The team will be owned by the Pakistan Super League’s Quetta team owners.

Team owner Naeem Omar has confirmed that former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi will be the marquee player of the Galle Gladiators.

The LPL, earlier scheduled to start on August 28, was rescheduled from September 19 to November 10 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. However, the organisers had to further defer the plan as any clash of dates with the Indian Premier League would have weakened the LPL field.

The Sri Lankan cricket authorities had also claimed that over 70 International players, including former India all-rounder Irfan Pathan, and 10 top-notch coaches had confirmed their availability for the tournament.

Admin Sportz Front

Read Previous

PSL to resume from November 14, remaining games’ schedule released

Read Next

IPL 2020: Star Sports launches campaign TVC #EksaathWaliBaat