Shakib Al Hasan sustains injury; misses warm-up games vs Sri Lanka

Bangladesh has suffered a massive blow ahead of the Men’s ODI World Cup in India as skipper Shakib Al Hasan has reportedly injured his foot.

The star all-rounder on Friday missed the warm-up game against Sri Lanka at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati. Before the game, Hasan didn’t came out for the toss as Mehidy Hasan Miraz took over the charge in the warm-up game.

As per a report of RevSportz, Shakib sustained an injury during the training session on Thursday and is expected to miss the next warm-up game too. He could also miss the team’s campaign opener against Afghanistan on October 7.

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first in the warm-up match on Friday.
“We wouldn’t have batted first. We have prepared for a couple of months and it has been a good opportunity for the players playing the World Cup. We have a few changes today, lots of guys resting,” Mehidy Hasan said at the toss.

Recently, Shakib had revealed that he is planning to play for couple of more years before retiring from international cricket. He had said that he will walk away after the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy.

While his ODI and T20I retirements are still distant, Shakib may hang his boots from Test cricket anytime after the 2023 ODI World Cup.

“The 2025 Champions Trophy for ODIs and the 2024 T20 World Cup for T20Is. Tests may be sooner. Maybe (after ODI WC). I will retire all at once, but I will stop playing each format one by one. I will announce my retirement after the 2025 Champions Trophy,” Shakib was quoted as espn

Meanwhile, the 36-year-old had also suggested that he will step down as Bangladesh skipper after the 2023 ODI World Cup.

“Given the current reality, I am captain only till the World Cup. Not a day more. I resigned from the captaincy on the 17th (September). I informed Papon bhai (Nazmul Hassan) and emailed the CEO that I don’t want to be the captain,” he said.

Bangladesh World Cup Squad:

Tanzid Hasan, Litton Das(w), Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan(c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Mahedi Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Hasan Mahmud, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam

News Desk

Read Previous

Bank of Baroda hosts All India Public Sector T20 Cricket Tournament 2023

Read Next

Zaka Asraf delighted over Pakistan team’s ‘fantastic’ reception in India