Skipper Stokes gets 13-strong squad for first Test

Ben Stokes will become England’s 81st Test captain as the Three Lions open their Test series against the West Indies at the Ageas Bowl on Tuesday.

England national team selectors have named a 13-strong squad for the first #raisethebat Test against West Indies at the Ageas Bowl. The Test starting on Wednesday, July 8, will also mark the return of international cricket after the COVID-19 pandemic has forced the suspension of the global cricket action.

Nine players will remain at the Ageas Bowl as Test reserves.

The Squad: Ben Stokes (captain), James Anderson, Jofra Archer, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler (wk), Zak Crawley, Joe Denly, Ollie Pope, Dom Sibley, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Reserves: James Bracey (Gloucestershire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Ben Foakes (Surrey), Dan Lawrence (Essex), Jack Leach (Somerset), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Craig Overton (Somerset), Ollie Robinson (Sussex), Olly Stone (Warwickshire).

The squad is predominantly loaded with pacers.

Durham all-rounder Ben Stokes is set to become the 81st England men’s Test captain on Wednesday after it was confirmed earlier in the week that he will replace Yorkshire’s Joe Root, who has returned to Sheffield to be at the birth of his second child.

Root had left the secure bubble in Southampton earlier this week. He will self-isolate for seven days before joining up with the squad ahead of the second Test at Emirates Old Trafford starting on 16 July.

#raisethebat Three-match Test Series Schedule:

1st Test: July 8-12, Ageas Bowl, Southampton

2nd Test: July 16-20, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester

3rd Test: July 24-28, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester

Admin Sportz Front

Read Previous

‘Conflict of interest complaint’ can land Kohli in serious trouble!

Read Next

UEFA inks €975 mn Champions League, Europa League rights deal with Telefonica