SKY, Rana & Shokeen fined for breach of conduct during MI-KKR clash

Mumbai Indians stand-in skipper Suryakumar Yadav, off-spinner Hrithik Shokeen and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) captain Nitish Rana have been fined for various breaches of the code of conduct during the IPL 2023 game between the two teams at the Wankhede Stadium on Sunday.

Suryakumar, who made his IPL captaincy debut on Sunday’s affair, was fined after Mumbai maintained a slow over-rate however, as it was his team’s first offence of the season under the IPL’s Code of Conduct relating to minimum over-rate offences, he was fined just Rs. 12 lakhs.

Meanwhile, he is now the fourth skipper in the current edition after Faf du Plessis, Sanju Samson and Hardik Pandya to be fined for slow-over rate.

On the other hand, KKR skipper Rana was fined 25 percent of his match fee after admitting to the Level 1 Offence under Article 2.21 of the IPL’s Code of Conduct.

Mumbai spinner Shokeen was fined 10 percent of his match fee after admitting to the Level 1 Offence under Article 2.5 of the Code of Conduct. For Level 1 breaches of the Code of Conduct, the Match Referee’s decision is final and binding.

Notably, both Rana and Shokeen were involved in a heated exchange of words during the game. During the ninth over of Kolkata’s innings, Shokeen had a go at Rana after dismissing him following which the KKR skipper stopped and turned around to exchange some angry words back at the spinner.

Suryakumar and MI leggie Piyush Chawla had to separate the furious argument between the two players.

Significantly, it was MI’s first game at home where Ishan Kishan slammed a half-century while Suryakumar also roared back to form with a 25-ball 43. On the other side, a brilliant 104 off 51 deliveries was scored by KKR’s Venkatesh Iyer.

In the contest, Mumbai defeated Kolkata by five wickets to register their second win of the current season.

News Desk

Read Previous

KKR sign Aarya Desai for remainder of IPL 2023

Read Next

BCCI announce hike in prize money for all men’s and women’s domestic tournaments