Sri Lanka to bid for three major ICC events between 2024-31

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced to bid to host three major ICC events in the next tournament cycle, which will begin from 2024 and will end in 2031.

A media release from SLC on Tuesday said: “Sri Lanka Cricket decided to bid for 03 Major ICC Men’s events to be held during the period of 2024 to 2031. Accordingly, bids will be submitted for the ICC T20 World Cup, Men’s Cricket World Cup, and the Champions Trophy. Sri Lanka Cricket, in certain events, will make a ‘Joint Bid’ in collaboration with an ICC Member country or countries.”

Notably, there are four major ICC events that will be hosted in the next FTP cycle which are the ICC T20 World Cup, the Men’s ODI World Cup, the World Test Championship final, and the Champions Trophy.

While the T20 World Cups will be held in 2024, 2026, 2028, and 2030, the ODI World Cups will be staged in 2026 and then in 2030.

On the other hand, Champions Trophy will be held in 2024 and in 2028 while the World Test Championship finals are planned after every two years, in 2025, 2027, 2029, and 2031.

Earlier, the International Cricket Council (ICC) had invited proposals from its memeber nations for hosting the events scheduled between 2024 and 2031.

News Desk

Read Previous

Manpreet to lead Indian men’s hockey team at Tokyo Olympics

Read Next

Euro 2020: Wembley to host semis & final with 75 percent of seating capacity