Star Sports acquires broadcast rights of Lanka Premier League

Star Sports is all set to telecast the upcoming season of the Lanka Premier League’s (LPL) action live, exclusively in India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, Maldives, and MENA region including UAE after bagging the broadcast rights.

Several star cricketers like Babar Azam, Shakib Al Hasan, David Miller beside Sri Lankan stars Thisara Perera and Wanidu Hasaranga, Angelo Mathews and skipper Dasun Shanaka will be seen in action at LPL 2023 as the event is scheduled to be held in island nation from July 30 to August 21.

The upcoming fourth season will be held across two venues—Colombo and Kandy.

“We are delighted to announce Star Sports as the official television broadcaster for the fourth edition of the Lanka Premier League 2023. Since the inception of the LPL, it has not only showcased an exciting brand of cricket but also provided a platform for Sri Lankan cricket to steadily churn out talented cricketers. With committed stakeholders like Star Sports, we are very excited to bring the global cricketing audience an opportunity to not only witness an extremely competitive and captivating brand of T20 cricket but also dish out unmatched non-live cricketing content for fans across India, Sri Lanka, the subcontinent and MENA region,” commented Anil Mohan Sankhdhar, Founder and CEO of IPG Group—the official rights holder of LPL.

“I am highly confident that the Lanka Premier League 2023 is going to reach new heights in terms of competitiveness among teams and excitement among fans, thus elevating the tournament to a new level; hence, having a renowned Broadcaster like Star Sports take the tournament to the doorstep of a wider audience is highly welcome,” said Samantha Dodanwela, Tournament Director, Lanka Premier League 2023.

“We welcome this exciting association with LPL. The league has witnessed thrilling action and a great fan base across the subcontinent and MENA region. With this association, the upcoming season will be able to reach a wider audience. We look forward to a great collaboration and a memorable experience for the fans,” said a Star Sports Spokesperson.

Colombo Strikers, Dambulla Aura, Galle Titans, Jaffna Kings and B-Love Kandy will be the five teams fighting for the coveted title.

News Desk

Read Previous

Doordarshan to telecast India tour of the West Indies in six languages across six channels

Read Next

Paris Saint-Germain part ways with manager Christophe Galtier