Star Sports to broadcast 5th season of TNPL

The highly anticipated Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) returns to the shores of the east coast following a two-year hiatus for its fifth season that gets underway from July 19th to August 15th with LIVE action on Star Sports 1 Tamil, Star Sports 2 and Disney+ Hotstar VIP.

Eight teams Chepauk Super Gillies, Dindigul Dragons, LYCA Kovai Kings, Salem Spartans, Idream Tiruppur Tamizhans, Ruby Trichy Warriors, Nellai Royal Kings, and Siechem Madurai Panthers will be vying for top honours.

The tournament, comprising of 32 matches, will be held only at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chepauk and will kickstart with Lyca Kovai Kings squaring off with Salem Spartans at 7.30 PM.

The commentary panel for the fifth season of TNPL will consist of familiar names such as Pradeep Muthu, Abhinav Mukund, L Balaji, S Ramesh, Naanee (KV Sathyanarayanan), Suhail Chandok, Padamjit Sehrawat and Nikhil Chopra.

As the new season of the much-loved league begins, big names like Ravichandran Ashwin and Washington Sundar are scheduled to miss it due to national commitments. However, fans will be hoping for the return of Sandeep Warrier, mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy and left-arm spinner Sai Kishore – once they have completed their national duty.

Meanwhile, the league will boast the presence of big names like India all-rounder Vijay Shankar, IPL’s batting & bowling stars Shahrukh Khan & Murugan Ashwin and N Jagadeesan, who is known for his performance at the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

July 19 will also mark the return of two rechristened teams, Salem Spartans and iDream Tiruppur Tamizhans, while the Nellai Royal Kings replace the VB Kanchi Veerans.

News Desk

Read Previous

Covid not a threat to Olympics participants, people of Japan: IOC Chief

Read Next

Coco Gauff to miss Tokyo Olympics after testing positive for COVID-19