Three West Indies players opt out of England tour

Three West Indies players have opted out of next month’s tour of England.

Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer and Keemo Paul have all stayed out of the tour party as Cricket West Indies named a 14-member squad for the three-Test series in England. Jason Holder will lead the team.

Cricket West Indies, while announcing the squad, has stated that they respected the players choice of not going to England.

“The new cricketing environment will take some getting used to. However, being in England and working together for four weeks before the first Test will give the squad the opportunity to get acclimatized and hopefully, mentally and technically adjusted to the demands of the new environment. Playing in July could be a blessing as the weather is likely to be warmer which will allow the squad more of an opportunity to play its best cricket,” said chief selector Carl Hooper.

The first Test of the three-match series is slated from July 8 at the Ageas Rose Bowl, Southampton. Old Trafford will host the next two games from July 16 and 24. The England and Wales Cricket Board is awaiting a formal nod from the United Kingdom Government, though the scheduled had been announced officially.

Bio-security has been the factor behind preference for the two venues as both the grounds have on-site hotels.

The West Indies squad will arrive in England a month is advance and will be quarantined as per the Health Department directives. The squad will be tested for COVID-19 this week ahead of their departure.

Squad: Jason Holder (c), J Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, K Brathwaite, S Brooks, J Campbell, R Chase, R Cornwall, S Dowrich (wk), C Holder, S Hope, A Joseph, R Reifer, K Roach.

There are 11 players named on the reserve list.

Reserves: Sunil Ambris, Joshua da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Keon Harding, Kyle Mayers, Preston McSween, Marquino Mindley, Shane Moseley, Anderson Phillip, Oshane Thomas, Jomel Warrican.

Schedule: July 8-12: 1st Test at Ageas Bowl, Southampton; July 16-20: 2nd Test at Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester; July 24-28: 3rd Test at Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester.

Admin Sportz Front

Read Previous

Odisha FC signs defender George D’Souza

Read Next

Record turnover gives ECB strength to survive cancelled season