Birmingham CWG’s cricket T20 event to begin from July 29

Cricket is all set to be a part of the Commonwealth Games (CWG) only for the second time in history as the women’s T20 competition will be held from July 29 to August 7 at the Edgbaston Stadium, the organisers of the Birmingham CWG announced on Tuesday.

While, the group stage matches of the eight-team competition is scheduled to be held till August 4, the semis will be staged on August 6.

The bronze medal match will be played on August 7 followed by the summit clash on the same day.

“With 11 days of swimming and diving, 8 days of cricket, 8 days of gymnastics and 7 days of athletics, including the marathon, the summer of 2022 is set for a spectacular home Games,” the official website stated.

Earlier, cricket had featured in the quadrennial event in Kuala Lumpur in 1998.

Six highest-placed teams in the ICC rankings as on April 1 along with hosts England will get direct qualification into the competition, the ICC had announced in November.

News Desk

Read Previous

Dravid will be the coach for Sri Lanka tour, confirms Ganguly

Read Next

India announce 15-member squad for WTC Final