India announce 15-member squad for WTC Final

Six batsmen, five pacers and two spinners along with two wicketkeeper-batsmen have been named in the 15-member India squad for the World Test Championship (WTC) final against New Zealand, starting on June 18 at the Hampshire Bowl in Southampton.

Of the 20-member squad, which has travelled to England, for the mega contest, opener Mayank Agarwal, left-arm spinner Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur and KL Rahul have been left out.

Significantly, Patel and Sundar had played in India’s last Test, the fourth and final match against England in Motera, Ahmedabad, in March this year.

Squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, and Mohammad Siraj

News Desk

Read Previous

Birmingham CWG’s cricket T20 event to begin from July 29

Read Next

Bangladesh to bid for hosting Champions Trophy solely: BCB President