ICC Chair Election: Board looks for unanimous choice; no decision on election process

International Cricket Council Board members have concluded yet another meeting with no conclusive decision on the process to elect the next Independent Chairman.

The agenda for the virtual meeting of the 17-member ICC Board had the sole item to finalise the nomination process for the election of the Independent Chairman.

The members could not reach a consensus on the process to find the successor of Shashank Manohar. Members are reportedly looking for a unanimous choice. But the house remained divided, according to India’s national news agency PTI.

“Yes, there was no unanimity on several issues. Firstly, there is a divided house on whether there should be a simple majority or the existing 2/3rd majority in a house of 17,” PTI has quoted an anonymous ICC Board member as saying.

ECB chief Colin Graves has been a strong contender for the ICC Chairman’s job, but he is not everybody’s choice. Suspense continues about Sourav Ganguly’s candidature.

“Colin Graves is a strong candidate but it can’t be said that he is favourite anymore. There are countries that won’t support Graves.

“Similarly, someone like Dave Cameron (former Cricket West Indies president) may enter the fray with support of two independent directors but may not get enough numbers. Ditto for Chris Nenzani (South Africa),” a former ICC Director reportedly told the agency.

The inconclusive meeting has given Ganguly the much-needed time to decide on his candidature.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India’s case to allow Ganguly an extension and complete three years in office is pending before the Supreme Court. The matter is expected to be heard on August 17.

In the absence of a favourable verdict, Ganguly is expected to throw his hat in the ring for the ICC Chair. He has already made it clear that at present service the BCCI remains his first choice.

Admin Sportz Front

Read Previous

‘BCCI gets Government nod to move IPL to UAE’

Read Next

BCCI initiates tender process for the IPL 2020 title sponsorship rights